Scores!!!!

Our students took the Georgia Milestones Assessment System (GMAS) last April. Most people would think that we would get their scores back within a month of taking the assessment, BUT that was not the case this year. After the test this past April we were told October would be when our scores would be released. October turned into January. Then, all of the sudden I receive an email in early November that my GMAS scores are in.

The results are ugly! I am used to 100% of my students passing the CRCT Mathematics portion. (the CRCT is what Georgia used to give as a standardized assessment). I knew the GMAS was going to be more difficult and I had been given a warning that the state was predicting that less than half of the students would pass the assessment the first year. Well, the state wasn’t lying.

I am not going to give my scores out because I have not been cleared to do so. I must say that although I am unhappy with the percentage of my students who passed, I had a higher percentage in my classes pass than the CES grade level average or state average.

I obviously need to make some adjustments to my teaching, start going deeper into their understand, and evaluate what I am doing as a professional. But I am proud of how hard most of my students worked on the GMAS. The next few months are going to be a lot of work as I reflect on how I teach, what I teach, and why my students did not perform as highly as I would have liked for them to.

NEW Signature

Leave a Reply

