Burlap Ornaments

Over my Fall Break I spent some time making Christmas ornaments. I love to attach ornaments to gifts at Christmas time. It just seems to make the gift even better!

This year’s ornament was inspired by one I saw at Cracker Barrel. It was a burlap ornament, but it cost $8.99 for one! I was not about to pay that. I looked at it closely and decided that I could definitely make it myself. And for WAY less that $8.99!!!

128915608053005811ktBTS6rOc

This is not one of my own, but it is exactly what I made!

Materials:

  • burlap
  • sharpie
  • scissors
  • hot glue gun and sticks
  • cotton balls or cotton batting
  • paint
  • ribbon (optional)
  • wire

How to make this ornament:

  1. Trace two circles on to your burlap. (optional—draw a little square and half circle on the top of your circle to look like the spherical ornaments)
  2. Cut them out.
  3. Hot glue your burlap pieces together half way around.
  4. Fill with a little bit of cotton batting or cotton balls pulled apart a little.
  5. Hot glue the rest of your burlap together making sure the cotton is all inside.
  6. Cut any stray or extra hot glue off of the edges.
  7. Paint as desired.
  8. When dry, poke wire through both layers of burlap and twist on the ends. Make sure you leave enough wire to hang it with.
  9. If you would like, you can add a ribbon by tying it around the wire.

Here are some of my creations!

  
I also used my cricut to get a stencil made for another shaped ornament. Check this out!

  
NEW Signature

Leave a Reply

