Song Series: First

I have always made connections to music. Being a dancer for the first 19 years of my life influenced me to hear the music not only with my ears, but with my body and emotions. This has enhanced how I worship God. When I listen to music, wherever it may be, I am doing more than listening…I am feeling. All of that being said, I am going to start a new series on songs that move me closer to God.

“First” is a song by Lauren Daigle and it is the cry of my heart. Listen to this amazing song! Read through the lyrics as you do.

“First” by Lauren Daigle

Before I bring my need

I will bring my heart

Before I lift my cares

I will lift my arms

I wanna know you

I wanna find you

In every season

In every moment

Before I bring my need

I will bring my heart

And seek you

First

I wanna seek you

I wanna seek you

First

I wanna keep you

I wanna keep you

First

More than anything I want, I want you first

Before I speak a word

Let me hear your voice

And in the midst of pain

Let me feel your joy

I wanna know you

I wanna find you

In every season

In every moment

Before I speak a word

I will bring my heart

And seek you

First

I wanna seek you

I wanna seek you

First

I wanna keep you

I wanna keep you

First

More than anything I want, I want you first

You are my treasure and my reward

Let nothing ever come before

You are my treasure and my reward

Let nothing ever come before

I seek you

First

First

I wanna seek you

I wanna seek you

First

I wanna keep you

I wanna keep you

First

More than anything I want, I want you first

First

This song touched on some things I went through awhile back and has continued to touch on current issues in my life. So…..

How do you start your day? Do you start it with Facebook, Instagram, or snapchat? Do you start it with a shower, coffee, or the news? Whatever it is, is that what is most important in your life? You may be thinking Whoa now! Just because I check my email first thing in the morning doesn’t mean my job is the most important., Hey now! I check Facebook just so I can slowly wake up., I am grouchy before I have coffee. You don’t want to talk to me that early. Two years ago, I began to read the bible on my phone first thing in the morning. I felt convicted of giving the first of my day to social media. This past summer the same conviction was made even easier to follow with a new free app. Have you heard of the First 5 app? This app was developed by Proverbs 31 Ministries and is an alarm that leads right into a morning devotion. I can set my morning alarm and be awoken with God’s word. The first five minutes of my day is being given to God. I can start my day with Him. It also has an additional lesson for later in the day and an optional book to go along with it. I read the additional lesson while I eat breakfast and use the book while I finish my coffee. It has been a great way to start my day and focus it on the Lord. It has also been a great way to share God’s word on social media because each day comes with an image to put out on the internet. I have been able to write captions and share on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. So what I used to spend my mornings doing has become a way I can share God’s word for each day. So how are you going to start your days? What do you give your first five minutes to?

In Psalm 119:1-7 it says (emphases added):

1Blessed are those whose ways are blameless,

who walk according to the law of the Lord.

Blessed are those who keep his statutes

and seek him with all their heart

they do no wrong

but follow his ways.

You have laid down precepts

that are to be fully obeyed.

Oh, that my ways were steadfast

in obeying your decrees!

Then I would not be put to shame

when I consider all your commands.

I will praise you with an upright heart

as I learn your righteous laws.[1]

We should be seeking God with all of our hearts. We should be seeking God first, every day.

NEW Signature

Leave a Reply

