St. Vincent Series: My Luggage

St. Vincent Series Header

So we made is back to Barbados and waited at the luggage carousel for more than thirty minutes when someone finally arrives to tell us our luggage is still in St. Vincent. Why? Because it was either only part of the people on the plane make it to Barbados with luggage and the other group of people stay in St. Vincent OR all of the people make it to Barbados and none of our luggage. You have to admit when they put it that way you can live without your luggage.

We had a seven hour layover in St. Vincent so Liat (the airline that we use to get on and off of St. Vincent) said they would try to get our luggage to us before we left. They told us what time to check back in at. Then we waited. When the time arrived for our luggage to hopefully be there we went back to the baggage claim building. As the airport personnel brought out 6 bags I was beyond excited to have my lime green suitcase come rolling in! It would not have been a big deal to make it back without it for a few days, but I was relieved to have my bag. Of the six bags to make it, mine and Bri’s (the student with me from church) were two of them. Wow! God is so good.

We checked our bags with American Airlines and headed through security to catch our next flight to Charlotte, NC.

I know this seems like a weird thing to share about a mission trip. But God knew that I was worried about my luggage on the way down, so He decided to show off by bringing my luggage all the way home with me. Even when it didn’t matter. So many times we don’t pray about the small things in life because it feels silly. But God cares about what you care about.

“Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.” Psalm 55:22

He knows the desires of your heart.

“May he give you the desire of your heart and make all your plans succeed.” Psalm 20:4

For some reason I obsessed over my luggage before this trip. God knew that I cared about it. He knew I worried about it. He heard my prayers about it (please don’t judge me. J). He answered them, even when they felt silly.

NEW Signature

Leave a Reply

