St. Vincent Series: Leaving Kyle There

St. Vincent Series Header

This was my first foreign mission trip. I’m slightly ashamed to say that since we had a 15 year old on the team with us. But this was the first time that I truly felt like I was supposed to serve abroad. I was so excited to be going with Kyle to the island that he had fallen in love with. I was excited to be able to serve with him in children’s ministry. Don’t get me wrong. We serve together all of the time, but in youth ministry. I love the youth. I think they are great. But there is nothing that brings more joy to my life than children. I love little kids and this was going to be a great week of children’s ministry after a long summer of youth ministry.

IMG_1273

My 8 days in St. Vincent were up. I was going home. But Kyle? He was staying there for another 10 days. The day before I left I was very emotional. I didn’t want to leave him there. It is different sending him away to a foreign country and leaving him in a foreign country. I didn’t like it. He comforted me and reminded me that he was going to be doing what he loved for the next ten days, youth ministry. The morning I left, we were up at 5:00 and leaving at 5:30. I said my goodbyes and climbed on the bus. Everyone was great and tried to keep my mind off of the fact that I was leaving him, alone… His team wouldn’t be there until dinner time. I was leaving him alone in a foreign country. It was hard.

IMG_1292

The worst part? Well, that was getting his messages in the St. Vincent airport that said he was crying and upset and sad that I was leaving. My heart was breaking and I had to go home. I had to be back at work that week and knew that it was time to leave. I prayed for God to comfort Kyle and myself. To strengthen us to do the work ahead of us. To focus our eyes on Him during this emotional moment.

IMG_1316

That first flight off the island is a short one, thirty minutes. About midflight I had a sense of comfort and a whisper said I have him in the palm of my hand. No one can snatch him away from me. I know you love him. I love him more. I love Kyle, but God loves him more. There is nothing I could have done or can do that will keep Kyle safe. But God? God can do anything and everything to protect him. No person, No object, No demon, No nothing can take Kyle away from God.

IMG_1351

So yes, it was terribly hard to leave Kyle alone in a foreign country, but God loves him more than either of us can comprehend and He will protect him.

IMG_1421

“I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.” John 10:28-29

IMG_1493 IMG_1437 IMG_1429

NEW Signature

Leave a Reply

