St. Vincent Series: Volcano Warning

St. Vincent Series Header

Thursday afternoon we arrived back at the motel and Kyle was immediately pulled aside by the woman who owned the Tropic Breeze. He had left me with his phone reading an article from an island close by about some volcano. I didn’t think too much about it. Then he returned to the room and said our entire team needed to meet immediately. I didn’t understand what the hurry was. I was hot and sweaty from the day and really wanted to take a shower and cool off. But we all met together and Kyle informed us all that an underwater volcano, Kick ‘em Jenny, was acting up. This volcano was close enough to put our island at a level orange. All activity within 5 km of the volcano was to be delayed. The water directly above Kick ‘em Jenny was boiling and the previous week St. Vincent had 5 earthquakes in one day. Some locals were freaking out. Others were acting as if they hadn’t heard anything about it.

IMG_1552

As I sat and listened to Kyle inform the group I was at peace which is weird for me. I am a worrier by nature and normally would have stressed over this, but for some reason I was fine. Whatever happens, happens, were my thoughts and I went about my evening. Many friends back home were freaking out and I definitely wanted prayers about the volcano warning, but I was not worried.

I am convinced that this sense of peace was from God. He knew that I didn’t need to worry. He knew that worrying wouldn’t help anything. So I didn’t worry. I wasn’t scared. It was just another day.

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34

This verse has been one of my favorites for years. It has been one I have had to remind myself with constantly. That Thursday definitely had enough trouble of its own, but even worrying about it that day is worthless. What does worrying do? Cause wrinkles and solve nothing. This day was one of the first times I felt like I probably should be worried, but wasn’t at all. God did that. God took away my worry.

NEW Signature

Leave a Reply

