St. Vincent Series: Washing His Feet

St. Vincent Series Header

On Tuesday we had lunch on a black sand beach. The waves were big and the temptation to get into the water was too great for Kyle. He played in the ocean for a bit and then we headed to our second church for VBS. When we arrived I immediately got to work setting up and getting focused on the tasks ahead. Later in the day Kyle shared with me a special moment that happened during this setup and focusing time.

IMG_1473 IMG_1478

Apparently a young boy (9 or 10 years old) saw Kyle’s feet and legs covered in sand from swimming in the ocean. He told Kyle he needed to rinse off. Kyle informed him he didn’t have anywhere to rinse. The young boy showed Kyle a sink at the nurse’s clinic across the road from the church. Anyone who knows Kyle knows he is not flexible and cannot come close to touching his toes, so the idea of lifting his leg into a sink at hip height is hilarious. Kyle managed to lift his leg (in an exaggerated manner) into the sink but proceeded to show the little boy that he could not reach his feet to wipe off the sand. The young boy didn’t even react. He immediately began to wash Kyle’s feet. He wiped his calves and feet off. If you haven’t seen, or smelled, Kyle’s feet BE THANKFUL! They smell awful and usually have a unique look to them. :/ It didn’t even phase the little boy.

Kyle asked him if he knew who else washed feet. The young boy knew that Jesus did. In John 13: 4-5, 12-17 the bible says, “so he [Jesus] got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him…When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. ‘Do you understand what I have done for you?’ he asked them. ‘You call me Teacher and Lord, and rightly so, for that is what I am. Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. I tell you the truth, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.” Jesus was showing his disciples how they were to serve. He showed them that they were no better than anyone else, even though they were His disciples. He showed humility and service to his disciples and encouraged them to do the same.

This young boy was concerned for Kyle. He wanted to help. Not only did he help by showing Kyle where a sink was, but he washed his feet! He showed deep humility and had a HUGE servant’s heart.

As Kyle was sharing this with me Tuesday night I was brought to tears. What an experience! I wanted to meet this young man. I wanted to see this darling boy. I couldn’t wait to meet him!

Just from hearing this story from Kyle, God taught me that I am not too important to do anything. I am not special because I am the youth pastor’s wife. I am not any different than anyone else and should jump at the opportunity to serve others, no matter what is needed. I shouldn’t have to be asked. I shouldn’t think about it or look for excuses to get out of it. I should be the first person who is willing to serve, who is seeking to serve.

NEW Signature

Leave a Reply

