St. Vincent Series: What a Beautiful Creation

St. Vincent Series Header

I have been in the Caribbean before. I’ve seen the Bahamas, St. Croix, and Jamaica. I have cruised from Miami to some islands and ridden in a car down to Key West. But I have never seen anything like St. Vincent. This is a volcanic island that is full of steep mountains and lush rainforests.

The first full day we were on the island we toured the side of the island we would not be ministering on. This side of the island looked like something straight out of Jurassic Park. It had big mountains that seemed to jut straight out of the Caribbean Sea. It had beautiful waterfalls and big rainforests. It is so pretty that it was one of the sights of the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie.

On our first day of mission work we drove up the other side of the island. Wow! The cliffs that dropped into the Atlantic Ocean. The black sand beaches that had massive waves crashing in from the African coast (cool fact: St. Vincent is the first break in the water of the Atlantic Ocean coming off of the African coast). The banana farms stretching across the slopes. The clouds that seem to just sit on top of the mountains in the distance.

As we were driving that morning and I was trying to prepare my heart for the work ahead of us a song started playing in my head. It’s one of the songs that we worshiped with during SPLASH Bartow. It is called “Close”. The chorus says:

I want to be close to you

I want to be close to you

There’s nothing in this world that compares to all You are

As I was looking at this island and I was taking in all of its beauty all I could think was that this place that God created didn’t even compare to all that He is. This beautiful island full of beaches and mountains, rainforests and coral reefs, huge ocean waves and peaceful seas, sunshine and rain clouds was NOTHING compared to my God.

Psalm 8 says:

O Lord, our Lord,

How majestic is your name in all the earth!

You have set your glory

Above the heavens.

From the lips of children and infants

You have ordained praise

Because of your enemies,

To silence the foe and the avenger.

When I consider your heavens,

The work of your fingers,

The moon and the stars,

Which you have set in place,

What is man that you are mindful of him,

The son of man that you care for him?

You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings

And crowned him with glory and honor.

You made him ruler over the works of your hands;

You put everything under his feet:

All flocks and herds,

And the beasts of the field,

The birds of the air,

And the fish of the sea,

All that swim the paths of the sea.

O Lord, our Lord

How majestic is your name in all the earth!

God created everything on earth, and it took me looking, really looking at St. Vincent island to realize that all the beauty in this world doesn’t even begin to compare to all that God is. Not only this, but God thought about us and put us over all of the plants and animals on this earth. What?! You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honor. You made him ruler over the works of your hands; you put everything under his feet… Wow! My God loves me and trusts me with His creation.

Driving that mountainous island is when I truly realized just how majestic God was is. Just how beautiful He must be. God is amazing! That is one of the things He taught me on my trip. God is amazing, majestic, wonderful, mighty… I could go on for pages but truly I cannot describe Him. He is God. I guess that is why in Exodus He describes Himself as I AM. Exodus 3:13-14 says, “Moses said to God, ‘Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, “The God of you fathers has sent me to you,” and they ask me, “What is his name?” Then what shall I tell them?’ God said to Moses, ‘I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: “I AM has sent me to you.”’

It’s amazing that it took 27 years for me to figure that out, but I guess that is my stubborn, thick skull. God is who He is. There is none that compare to Him.

As you scroll through these photos of the island, play the song Close and listen to the words as you admire God’s creation. And trust me, these photos do not do His work justice. Maybe you just need to go there and let God teach you about His beauty.

IMG_1274 IMG_1285 IMG_1340 IMG_1289 IMG_1348 IMG_1313 IMG_1290 IMG_1373 IMG_1486 IMG_1359 IMG_1314 IMG_1507 IMG_1553 IMG_1430

Leave a Reply

