St. Vincent Series: Finally There

St. Vincent Series Header

I had been up since 2 am. I was tired. I just wanted to be on the island. We flew from Atlanta to Miami. From Miami to Barbados. And from Barbados to St. Vincent. We had a planned layover for 3 hours in Barbados and an unplanned delay there for another hour and a half. All of our luggage made it which was a miracle in and of itself. I have heard the horror stories about Liat (the only airline that flies into St. Vincent from other countries). I have had to deal with the effects of Liat with my husband’s many travels to St. Vincent. Our entire team made it to the island with all of our luggage! That was HUGE!

IMG_1256 IMG_1258 IMG_1260 IMG_1263 IMG_1265 IMG_1267

I had been praying for my heart to be open to the island and what God had to say to me while I was down there. I had been praying for the kids on the island who I would be ministering to. I had been praying that traveling to and from the island would be smooth and more than anything that my luggage would make it there. This was an answer to my prayers, literally!

We made it to the motel around 8 pm. It seemed safe. I was pleased. I walked into my room and it was stuffy. It had some strange choice of bedspreads on the bed. The lights were simply bulbs at random places around the large tiled room. There was a stove behind the TV which didn’t work. It was StRaNgE. I really thought they might have a more Americanized hotel/motel for us to stay in, but after such a long day of traveling I could let all of this go. After all I had made it to the island WITH my luggage.

But I was still hot. God, please let the air conditioner work. I wanted to be able to rest in a cool room, not this burning inferno. We (my husband and I) moved one of the beds into the “living room” area (it was all one big room any way). This put the bed right next to the air conditioner that we were unsure of whether it was depositing cold air or not into our room. I figured while we waited for the room to cool I could at least take a shower. I stank. I mean, it’s bad when you can smell yourself and after a very full day of travel nothing is better than a refreshing shower. Maybe I shouldn’t say refreshing as much as a shower considering what the motel had to offer in the way of showering.

The island doesn’t have many hot water tanks and this motel definitely didn’t have one. Each shower had a heating component on the head of the shower. The water was supposed to be hot, but when I got in it was cold. Not ice cold. I have taken an ice cold shower at the bottom of the Grand Canyon when I was fifteen. This was a cold shower though. There was almost no water pressure, but I finally managed to get my long, thick hair wet. I lathered in the shampoo. Suddenly there was no water. I checked the nobs. They were open all of the way. I yelled for Kyle to check the sinks. No water. What in the world? I waited. And waited… God, I don’t care about the way the room looks. I don’t care if it is hot in here. But some water would be great. I just want to get the shampoo out of my hair. I was tired. I was miserable. I was cold (after all I was standing in a shower that at one point had cold water pouring over me and by this point the air conditioner was starting to spit out cold air).

How long would I have to stand here before I could rinse my hair? What was happening that made the water suddenly stop? Lord, send water. Shortly after my constant prayers for water I was gifted with some. I managed to quickly finish my cold shower and head to bed. As I laid in bed I realized the first couple of things that God was going to teach me on this trip.

  1. Trust Me (God) to get you there
  2. Don’t be so spoiled, I (God) will give you what you NEED

I worried for weeks about my luggage making it to the island. I wanted to be sure that I had enough clothing and toiletries and things of comfort with me. Why didn’t I know to trust that God was going to get me there and whatever He knew I would need? The bible says in Matthew 6, “Therefore, I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? … And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown in the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?” (vs.25, 28-20). I had such small faith that I doubted, worried, fretted over my clothing making it there.

Then I finally am there, with my clothes, and I am not happy with how the room looks?! After a bit, I am not concerned with the façade of the room, but the temperature was not working for me. Then when I was standing in the shower cold, wet, and soapy I wasn’t concerned with the way things looked or how it felt, just send me some water God. I was/am so spoiled. I have a beautiful (tiny) home with so many luxuries. I grew up with fancy vacations across the US and parts of the Caribbean and the first thing I did was stick my nose up in the air at this room. How dare I? God gave me a room to share with my husband. It was a safe room. It was clean. We had running water and electricity. We even had Wi-Fi (which I am not used to having at home).

That first night lying in bed God taught me. Trust me. I will take care of you. I will give you what you need. Don’t judge everything so quickly. I know how to take care of you.

God used this trip to teach me a lot about myself and about Him. I can’t wait to share all of these moments and stories with you.

Just so you know how this portion of the story ends: It turns out that if someone down stairs was showering then we wouldn’t have any water upstairs. So each day it was a guessing game on how long a shower would take for us on the top floor because the people on the bottom floor controlled the water unknowingly. Also, the water heating component only worked if the water was running and the switch in the living room area was turned on. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

