God May Call

So Saturday night my husband said, “I think your going to fall in love with St. Vincent and we are going to move there.” 

Talk about a scary thing to say. It terrified me. I don’t want to move there. I don’t want to leave the U. S. I don’t want to leave my family, job, friends. 

Saturday night I had a nightmare. I dreamt that I woke up and Kyle had gotten rid of my dogs, sold our vehicles, sold our home, and shipped our stuff to St. Vincent. 

Sunday I cried. I mean bawled like a baby out of fear for my dream coming true. Kyle tried to calm me and reassure me, but I was still nervous. 

What if God calls? What if we are called to ministry on the island long term?

I called my mom today to talk about it and she called me on the carpet. “Danielle, you don’t like the unknown. You like to plan, prepare, and be in control. You can’t be that way this week. You can’t control what happens in the future. What scares you most is that you know God could call you to that island.”

She hit the nail on the head. 

She then told me to stop worrying, enjoy my week on mission, and stay safe. Somehow, mom made everything seem okay. Moms have that gift I guess. 

God, Go before me to the island. Prepare the children there for VBS. Prepare my heart and calm my nerves. Guide me in the way my life should go. 

Leave a Reply

