Line of Learning

What is the Line of Learning?  you may be wondering. The Line of Learning is many things. It is a time and money saver. It is a line. It marks growth in student knowledge. 

Okay. I should probably clarify.

This is the Line of Learning

  

Now please allow me to clarify.

  • It is a time saver: I used to use post it notes as before and after informal assessments in journals. Counting out two for each student and passing them out took class time and left many students waiting on me. Drawing a line is all students will have to do now and they won’t have to wait for me to draw their line. 
  • It is a money saver: Post-it notes are expensive. My students were using about 300 a year to do vocabulary and pre/post post-it notes. 300 per kid when you teach 50 kids is a lot! Drawing a line is FREE!!!
  •  It is a line: Look at it. It is simply a line that says “Libe of Learning” above or below it. 
  • It marks growth in student knowledge: my students put the standards we are learning in their notebooks. They also write the Essential Question down. Then, before I teach anything, they answer the EQ. They can put I don’t know, ?, or write what they think the answer is. After I am done teaching they draw THE Line of Learning. This symbolizes the time we have spent learning over that week and practicing the standard. Below the Line of Learning they answer the EQ again. This time they should have way more to write. Maybe they draw a picture with it or give an example. Who knows?

The Line of Learning is simple and complex. Here are some example pages of my Lines of Learning.

   

  

 

As you can see I use the Line of Learning can be used in any subject, for EQs or science probes. 

Super simple! Super cheap! Super useful!

2 thoughts on “Line of Learning

Leave a Reply

