New Way to Organize My Interactive Notebooks

I use three interactive notebooks in my classroom each year. In years past I have had three composition notebooks just like my students. But this year I will be organizing my notebooks, not my students, in a three ring binder. This will allow me to lay each page flat under the document camera. I can change the order of the pages that I prep this summer as I am teaching them. 

The materials I have at home this summer to help prep and reorganize my interactive notebooks are:

  

  • 3″ three ring binder
  • 3 packs of notebook paper
  • Colored paper
  • 3 dividers 
  • Markers
  • Color pencils
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Post it notes
  • Tape

The notebook is divided into three sections:

  

  • Math
  • Science
  • Social studies

To ensure that I include all of my favorite notebook activities in my new notebook I have my interactive notebooks from the past two years to guide me. 

  
I have started prepping many units in my new notebook. Here is a little preview of posts to come!

  
Standard, EQ, and the Line of Learning

  
Math Practice and Answer Keys

5 thoughts on “New Way to Organize My Interactive Notebooks

    • I have had very little training on interactive notebooks, BUT I have read tons of blog posts with suggestions and taken the resources I have and run with it. My students walk away at the end of the year with “yearbooks/textbooks/journals” of all they learned in my room. They love them and come back to me and talk about how they read through them at home! It’s cool!

      Like

  1. Ok, I have to do more “work” on this. Last year my notebooks were riddled with half done, not well thought out, work. I know the IN is supposed to be more than that, but I didn’t do the research on the front end. I will say that we didn’t has as much loose leaf paper, but we did have a ton of notebook/comp books that weren’t what I wanted exactly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

