What We Learned

Let’s be real. I am exhausted. Camp is tough and I didn’t do as much as any of our campers physically. But what I did do is really pay attention to the messages, devotions, bible studies, and conversations being had. As well as be momma to 11 girls and 10 boys plus Kyle. 
Full Day #1

Cutter, Complainer, or Waiter

Cutter- someone who jumps to the front of the line like Isaiah. 

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!” (‭Isaiah‬ ‭6‬:‭8‬ NIV)

This person is serving the Lord whole-heartedly and not slowing down for anyone.

Complainer- someone who does God’s work but complains the whole time like Jonah.

But to Jonah this seemed very wrong, and he became angry. He prayed to the Lord, “Isn’t this what I said, Lord, when I was still at home? That is what I tried to forestall by fleeing to Tarshish. I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love, a God who relents from sending calamity. Now, Lord, take away my life, for it is better for me to die than to live.” (‭Jonah‬ ‭4‬:‭1-3‬ NIV)

Jonah did what God told him to, and when the Ninevites repented God did not strike them down. This upset Jonah to the point of wanting death. 

This person works for God but with nothing positive to say about it.

Waiter- someone who will wait for someone, anyone else to do God’s work and if no one else can do it then they will. 

Which one are you? Are you a cutter? Complainer? Waiter?

Which one does God want you to be?

Full Day #2

Hurt or Help?

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me. 

LIE!

That is a lie. Words hurt. Words tear us down. Words break us at our cores. 

1. What you say should be true… But not everything that is true should be said. 

TEACHER SIDE NOTE: In school we read a book to the kids called the honest to goodness truth. It’s about a girl who always tells the truth and sometimes it hurts people’s feelings. She learns that sometimes it is best to not say anything.

2. What you say should speak life into someone’s life. 

To be honest I was so focused on the emotional state of my students that I didn’t get all of the notes or scripture for this lesson, but here is the scripture I did write down:

Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole body, sets the whole course of one’s life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.

but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. (‭James‬ ‭3‬:‭5-6, 8-10‬ NIV)

Ouch! That is painful to read. It was painful to hear which is why so many of our teenagers were emotional. 

Full Day #3

Unfortunately I missed the intro to this lesson because I was working on some girl drama in my room. Ugh! However the meat of the sermon was great!

Are we obedient to God?

Now go, attack the Amalekites and totally destroy all that belongs to them. Do not spare them; put to death men and women, children and infants, cattle and sheep, camels and donkeys.’ ”

But Saul and the army spared Agag and the best of the sheep and cattle, the fat calves and lambs—everything that was good. These they were unwilling to destroy completely, but everything that was despised and weak they totally destroyed. Then the word of the Lord came to Samuel: “I regret that I have made Saul king, because he has turned away from me and has not carried out my instructions.” Samuel was angry, and he cried out to the Lord all that night.

When Samuel reached him, Saul said, “The Lord bless you! I have carried out the Lord’s instructions.” But Samuel said, “What then is this bleating of sheep in my ears? What is this lowing of cattle that I hear?” Saul answered, “The soldiers brought them from the Amalekites; they spared the best of the sheep and cattle to sacrifice to the Lord your God, but we totally destroyed the rest.” “Enough!” Samuel said to Saul. “Let me tell you what the Lord said to me last night.” “Tell me,” Saul replied. Samuel said, “Although you were once small in your own eyes, did you not become the head of the tribes of Israel? The Lord anointed you king over Israel. And he sent you on a mission, saying, ‘Go and completely destroy those wicked people, the Amalekites; wage war against them until you have wiped them out.’ Why did you not obey the Lord? Why did you pounce on the plunder and do evil in the eyes of the Lord?” “But I did obey the Lord,” Saul said. “I went on the mission the Lord assigned me. I completely destroyed the Amalekites and brought back Agag their king. The soldiers took sheep and cattle from the plunder, the best of what was devoted to God, in order to sacrifice them to the Lord your God at Gilgal.” But Samuel replied: “Does the Lord delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the Lord? To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams. For rebellion is like the sin of divination, and arrogance like the evil of idolatry. Because you have rejected the word of the Lord, he has rejected you as king.” Then Saul said to Samuel, “I have sinned. I violated the Lord’s command and your instructions. I was afraid of the men and so I gave in to them. (‭1 Samuel‬ ‭15‬:‭3, 9-11, 13-24‬ NIV)

Don’t let the wants you have today affect the needs you have for the future. Saul needed to obey God but wanted to please the people. Saul’s disobedience cost him everything that mattered.

Are you going to be obedient? Are you going to do what God is telling you to do?

These sermons were not easy to hear, but God spoke to the students and to me. I am so glad I came to camp if for no other reason than to hear the word God put on Robert Smith’s heart. 

Leave a Reply

