How to Persistently Pursue a Teaching Job

How to Get a Teaching Job

After the past 5 months of helping my brother-in-law seek teaching jobs I have realized that not everyone seeks employment in education as hardcore as I did. I want to share with you how persistently I pursued my teaching position.

I graduated college in December of 2010 and knew that it would not be likely to find a teaching position at that time of year. I was put on the substitute teacher list for both school systems in my hometown. I printed business cards with my information (both my maiden name and married name for people who didn’t know that I had recently married). I placed one in each teacher’s mailbox at the six schools closest to my home. I also dropped resumes off for each of the principals in those six schools.

I then subbed as many days as possible. I never turned someone down unless I was already subbing for another teacher. Each time I was at a school I would:

  • Drop a resume in the principal’s office
  • Smile and talk with all adults I encounter in the building (especially lunchroom staff and janitors—they get ignored most of the time, but make a HUGE impact in the school)
  • Leave a detailed report for the teacher I subbed for
  • Talk with other teachers on the grade level during lunch and planning offering to help in any capacity
  • Memorize student’s names to make them feel special the next time you are in that school

I also always had my portfolios with me in case an opportunity to speak with a principal came up. In my portfolio I had:

  • resume
  • letters of recommendation

For experienced teachers you may also want to include:

  • pictures from your currently classroom
  • letters from parents of students
  • data

I applied for every job within a 60 mile radius of my home and would call schools requesting speaking to with the principal after two days. Many times I was unable to speak with them, but that didn’t stop me.

After I knew several teachers in a school I requested permission from them to invite the principal to watch me teach when I subbed for them. They granted me permission and I emailed the principal. He did not come observe me, but he did stop by the classroom and reassure me that he knew who I was.

This is not the end all be all on how to get a teaching job, but it worked for me! If you are job hunting, my thoughts and prayers go out to you. If you already have a job, remember how blessed you are to have that job!

NEW Signature

6 thoughts on “How to Persistently Pursue a Teaching Job

    • You are one lucky fellow to not have to sub ever and have a teaching job! The school system I am in is extremely hard to get into and everyone wants to be in it, so subbing was the best way to get my face in front of people. My brother-in-law and I both subbed for some time before being given jobs in this system.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. To show how things have changed, in 2001I received four teaching offers from three different school systems in a week’s time. Ended up teaching freshman English at Woodland HS and had the pleasure of having a student who turned into a pretty awesome teacher, I hear. đŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes the times have turned dramatically! I was banging on every door possible to find a job and you had three thrown into your lap! Haha! Your class taught me that I wasn’t a bad reader or dumb when it came to literature (unlike some previous teachers I had). Thank you for building that confidence in me! I hope to build that same confidence in my young students as a teacher.

      Like

  2. Hi Danielle,

    This is a very helpful post. I had always wanted to be a teacher but I dropped out of college. I took up BS Psychology back then and I only finished 2 years of college. I wish to go back to uni again to study and if ever God wills for it to happen then I’ll take up Education instead.

    This post is refreshing. I have to reiterate that. lol. Thank you for the inspiration today. Glad I found your blog!

    Luna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Luna, I’m so glad this post encouraged and inspired you! Education (both my own and educating others) is one of my passions and I love to learn and teach. I highly suggest going back to school (when your able) and striving to get a 4year degree! Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

