DIY Granola Bars

I have this great room mom at school who loves to bring me small gifts. At the start of the school year she brought me a homemade granola bar. It Was AMAZING! For Christmas she made me a huge container of homemade granola bars. When my husband got his hands on them he was obsessed! He no longer wanted store bought granola bars, he wanted homemade granola bars. After Christmas break I found the room mom and asked if she would share her recipe with me, and I was shocked when she said NO (okay she didn’t scream it, but in my head it was a big deal). What was I going to do? My husband and I love granola bars, but we don’t want store bought bars anymore and she won’t give me her recipe.

Ugh!

I did what any good millennial person would do. I Google-ed it!

I found a recipe that sounded simple and tried it. Too sweet! I made another batch and lessened the amount of honey. Much better taste, but they wouldn’t stick together! I made another batch and froze them before cutting. Perfect!

So today, I want to share my modified granola bar recipe with all of you, so that you can create your own amazing granola bars at home!

You Will Need:

2 1/2 cups of old fashioned rolled oats

1/2 cup of almonds (or any nut you want IF you like nuts) OPTIONAL

1/4 cup of honey

1/4 cup of unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1/4 cup of packed light brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt

1/2 cup of dried cranberries (or any other dried fruit IF you like them) OPTIONAL

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of mini chocolate chips

IMG_0595

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Cover an 8×8 glass plan with aluminum foil and spray with vegetable oil.

IMG_0596

Measure the oats and nuts of your choice (we love pecans) and put into pan. Toast in oven for 5 minutes, stir, and then 5 more minutes.

IMG_0597

While that is in the oven combined the butter, honey, brown sugar, salt, and vanilla in a sauce pan. Cook on medium heat until everything is melted and mix it together as it is cooking.

IMG_0598

After both of those separate parts are finished, mix them together in a bowl and let them sit for about 5 minutes. After 5 minutes add the dried fruit and chocolate chips (I have also used peanut butter chips…SO GOOD!). Pour into the 8×8 pan with the aluminum foil still in it.

IMG_0599

Here is the interesting part. Find something flat that fits into your pan. I have a tiny cutting board I use. Press on the flat object for about 1 minutes, then move the board and press again. I normally press for about a total of 4 minutes to help the bars set. Then place in the refrigerator for about an hour. Move to the freezer for the last hour.

IMG_0600

After two hours, pull the block of granola out of the pan and peal the aluminum foil off of the bars.

IMG_0601

Use a large knife and cutting board to cut bars to your preferred size. I normally get about 12 bars out of one batch.

IMG_0602

Wrap each bar in cling wrap.

IMG_0603

Place in air tight container and enjoy!

NEW Signature

2 thoughts on “DIY Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

