Long Story

So, I have a long story that I am going to try to keep short, but I promise it all has to do with my prayer journey.

As a freshmen in high school I entered homeroom knowing that I would be with this group of peers for four years each morning. You see, in my high school we kept the same homeroom teacher and class for our entire high school career. I met a dear group of friends in homeroom and love the memories we share from those four years of our lives.

One of these friends later became a college roommate and I had the honor of being one of her bridesmaids when she got married. We had a great 8 years together, but that all ended.

As I shared a few weeks ago, I seem to lose friends. I’m not sure how, but I do. This friend (we’ll call her Mary from privacy purposes) was there in some of the hardest times of my life and some of the happiest times of my life. We shared memories, stories, and life lessons. When she got married we really thought we would be together forever since she was marrying my mom’s best friend’s son.

I know you are starting to think, How could this possibly have anything to do with her prayer journey? Bear with me.

When Mary and I had a falling out it was my fault. I communicated poorly and in the end after several apologies were made Mary couldn’t get past it. The reason we had a falling out is not important for this story, but know that many days have come and gone since this falling and I still wish I could take back the poorly communicating email that was sent.

For years, this falling out affected my relationship with my mother’s best friend (we’ll call her Amanda for this story). You see, Amanda didn’t have a daughter so many prom dress shopping trips and girly activities included her. She always seemed to care and I knew I could call her if I needed to. For years we were cordial, but not close. Not like we had been.

A little more than a year ago, Mary and Amanda had a disagreement that has since exploded. Amanda and I have talked and apologies were exchanged for the years of cordial silence. We have both seen the same side to Mary now.

Last week I received a phone call from Amanda. She wanted advice for her relationship with Mary.

Advice? From me? I couldn’t heal my friendship with Mary when it was mine, how can I help you? were the thoughts running through my head.

After listening to Amanda talk about their relationship, or lack there of, I realized that I did have something to offer.

When I apologized four and half years ago to Mary I had done my part. I genuinely was sorry and begged for forgiveness from Mary. Mary may never be able to be my friend again, but that is not on me. That is on her. She claims she has forgiven me, but that she cannot be friends with me. And honestly, I’m fine with that. I tried to reconcile the relationship. I tried to reach out to her. I tried.

Amanda has tried to apologize. She has tried to reach out to her. She has tried. At this point Amanda cannot do anything to make Mary accept the apology.

The part that saddens me so is that Mary is keeping Amanda’s son from her. He is stuck in the middle of his wife (Mary) and his mother (Amanda) and cannot seem to make anyone happy. Amanda currently has almost no communication with her son or his wife. They will not be visiting anytime soon and it is just sad.

I told Amanda that she had tried. That she had reached out. That she had done what she knew to do from God’s word. All that is left is to PRAY.

Mary and her husband have not found a church (that we know of) in their new home state. They have not made any friends (especially christian friends). They seem to be drifting farther from God and His truth.

Until Mary and her husband get right with God, they cannot heal the relationships that are broken. They need God in their lives.

Amanda and I agreed to pray for each other, Mary and her husband, and the relationships lost. God added Amanda to my prayer list and I hadn’t even thought about praying for her. The cool thing is, He added her 6 days before I was going to add a new person (which is something that I pray about—who to pray for next). Then I saw this on Pinterest:

IMG_0500

God says ‘The reason why some people have turned against you and walked away from you without reason…has nothing to do with you. It is because I have removed them from your life because they cannot go where I am taking you next. They would only hinder you at the next level because they have already served their purpose in your life. Let them go and keep moving. Greater is coming your way,’ says the Lord.

This makes sense to me and my relationship with Mary. It doesn’t for Amanda, but God will reveal His plan in His time. All we can do now is PRAY!

Signature

 

3 thoughts on “Long Story

Leave a Reply

