Fearing the Name Mrs. Ruff

I am a tough love teacher. I am. I don’t sugar coat or baby students(even though they are in third grade). I give ample warnings, but when they line has been crossed and you have been warned…your done. There is a consequence. Period. So sorry.

So many students (who aren’t in my class) think I am a mean teacher. And I kind of am. I recognize that. I hold people accountable. Even little people. There is some fear when Mrs. Ruff’s name is mentioned because students know that I am not going to let them get away with anything they aren’t supposed to be doing.

The other day it hit me that fearing God is similar to students fearing me.

Fear the Lords Name

Just go with it for a second.

My students know I love them. They know that when I get on to them it is for their own good. They know that when there is a consequence it is because they have earned it by their actions. 

We Christians know that God loves us. We know that when God redirects us it is for our own good. We know that the consequence of our sin is eternal separation from God. 

We are to fear God and the name of the Lord not because He is mean, unjust, or bad. We are to fear God because he is going to hold us accountable. He is going to redirect us. He is going to punish us (unless of course you are saved).

fear of God

The best way for us to show a fear of God is by obeying God, doing as he tells us in His word. We are to follow His leading through the Holy Spirit and know that He would not lead us astray.

The best way my students can show a fear of me is simply by obeying. They know I love them, just like I know that God loves me.

I read this scripture this morning:

PSALMS 25: 12-14

12 Who, then, are those who fear the Lord?
    He will instruct them in the ways they should choose.[b]
13 They will spend their days in prosperity,
    and their descendants will inherit the land.
14 The Lord confides in those who fear him;
    he makes his covenant known to them.

I love that those who fear the Lord are rewarded with knowing him more intimately. I fear the Lord, but I know that he loves me!

Signature

Leave a Reply

