Ticket Out the Door – Paint Chip Style

I love tickets out the door (TOTD)! You may remember my previous few posts on this topic. (Click here and here to view them). This summer I was given the idea to use paint chips for TOTD. The lightest color on the paint chip means “I am good, I know this, 🙂 ” and the darkest color on the paint chip means “I am in the dark, I have no idea, help me 😦 “. As you can see below, one of my students used the key I put on the board to help him remember on his paint chip.

Colors Mean

Then I give the students a problem to solve and ask them to solve it in the color they feel they are. When they have completed it They hold it in the air for me to come and get. I sort them by correct answer and incorrect answer in my hand to get a quick read of where the class is at.

photo 1 photo 2

Some students may not feel very confident, but have the right answer. Now I know I need to reassure them! Some students may feel very confident and have the wrong answer. Now I know I need to correct some major misconceptions or simple computation mistakes.

Paint chips are FREE at Home Depot and Lowes. I got the Behr paint chips and cut them in half!

Share this idea with a friend and informally assess your students often!

Signature

Leave a Reply

