Do you let your light shine?

This whole idea of Shining the Light is not just about teaching, or loving my husband, home, or church. It came about when I continually was told in undergrad that as a school teacher I could not bring God or religion into the schools. I had always known that I guess, but I didn’t realize how big of a deal it really was. Now maybe it was stressed to me because most public colleges are liberal and tend to stress their ideals onto the young impressionable minds in their classes, but this idea of dropping God off at the door of any school I stepped foot in didn’t make sense.

I love God and try to live by His Word (but find it impossible). How am I suppose to leave Him outside of the building I spend most of my waking hours in?

The answer: I can’t. The Lord is apart of me and cannot be separated from me. And honestly I cannot hide Him from the people I am around. In Luke 11:33 it says, “No one lights a lamp and puts it in a place where it will be hidden, or under a bowl. Instead he puts it on its stand, so that those who come in may see the light.” The light Jesus (who is speaking this) is referring to is Him. When we are saved by Jesus then He becomes apart of us and we must let Him shine in us. So no matter where I am Jesus must shine. I cannot hide it.

How does He shine? Through the way I love people, serve others, have a positive attitude (even when no one else does), work hard, and live my life. One of my favorite reminders of how to shine His light is found in Colossians 3:23, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for The Lord, not for men.” I work for Jesus. Therefore I give my best everyday. And hopefully one day I’ll be able to tell others why I work so hard, love all of my students as if they were my own, serve the people around me even if others do not think they deserve to be served. I do it for Jesus. He would have done it, so I will do it.

Here’s my question for you, Do you let His light shine?

Leave a Reply

