Faith in God

At the end of April I began to read a book by Beth Moore, Believing God. This book talked about having faith in God. Moore has a few points that carry on throughout the book:
1. God is who He says He is.
2. God can do what He says He can do.
3. I am who God says I am.
4. I can do all things through Christ.
5. God’s word is alive and active in me.

The book also challenges it’s readers to evaluate their lives and either give something up or add something to their lives for a set amount of time. I began to pray about what God would have me do with this book. Over and over during my prayer time God laid on my heart Pinterest and scripture memory. So for the month of May I have not used Pinterest (which I was on daily) and I have replaced that time with meditating on God’s word and memorizing His scripture.

As I continue to read Moore’s book and memorize God’s word I realize how I was filling my time with things of this world and not keeping my eyes focused on The Lord. I’m not saying Pinterest is bad or that I will never use it again, but I was using Pinterest to fill down time, or when I was stressed or worried. It was a way for me to relax and enjoy my time, but that should be when I turn to God.

I have been reminded that:

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:21

My treasure can not be Pinterest or any other earthly thing; it must be God and His kingdom.

“Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, and the new has come.” 2 Corinthians 5:17

My flesh instincts are old and gone, and my Christ-centered life is new and good.

“Do everything in love.” 1 Corinthians 16:14

I must cook dinner in love. Clean the bathroom in love. Take attendance in love. Teach math in love. All things must be done in love.

So many of the scriptures I have (or have begun) to set to memory remind me of the life I am suppose to live in Christ.

I challenge you to read Believing God by Beth Moore and put your faith fully in God. When you do you will experience God in a new way which will change your life.

Leave a Reply

