Math Journals-Picture Graphs, Missing Numbers, 2 Step Word Problems

Man am I bad at keeping you all up to date on our math journals.

A few weeks ago we went over picture graphs. The students had several great entries for this standard and we have some of our graphs from the week displayed in the hallway. Here are our notebook entries:

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3  photo 5 photophoto 4

Then we spent a week on missing numbers in math sentences. We talked about variables and inverse operations to solve these problems. Here are our notebook entries for this standard:

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

Now we are working on two-step word problems. We have spent time working through each problem using the Singapore (or model drawing) method. Here are our notebook entries:

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5

Here is the link to a FREE smartboard noteboook for openings.

Picture 1 Picture 2 Picture 3

Here is the link to the Georgia Frameworks lessons that I used for some of the openings and closings. I used Hooked on Solutions which is similar to BINGO. I also used Armadillo Stories (which has been removed from this year’s GA frameworks). In this lesson the students write their own word problems using facts about armadillos. I then pick the best word problems they wrote and make a test out of them! It is a great lesson and I highly recommend trying it.

I hope these are helpful. I know that I truly enjoy teaching math and have seen a great improvement in my students’ understanding with the use of journals this year!

Signature

Leave a Reply

