Bread vs. Dessert

I love bread! I always have. My mother could and would tell you that my favorite part of a meal is bread. My favorite restaurants have good bread. I love bread!

A few months ago I saw a pin on pinterest (that I cannot seem to find again) that said, “The bible should be your bread, not dessert.”

I don’t know about you, but I eat bread in some form or another multiple times a day. I might eat a small dessert (cookie) once a day, but I only eat big, heavy desserts on special occasions.

I want my bible, my prayer life, my walk with God to be a daily part of my life. I want it to be my bread, not my dessert.

John 6:35 says, “Then Jesus declared, ‘I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.'”

I hope that you have or will make your bible, and your relationship with God your bread.

photo 1

The lesson above was part of my introduction to the women’s ministry fellowship at my house a few weeks ago. I made homemade banana and pumpkin breads for us to snack on. We had a wonderful time talking with one another, but let me tell you, inviting women over to my five room house was hard work. It is a tiny house and needed a lot of cleaning (because I had slacked off for awhile). I added some new fall decorations for the fellowship also.

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

The R was 50% off at Hobby Lobby. I added some raffia and a fall floral piece with a burlap bow. I hung it on an old barn door my husband found in a pasture somewhere. The pumpkin with flowers is a cheap $1 pumpkin from Target (used for trick or treating normally) spray painted ivory with a $3 mum from Home Depot in it (black potting container and all is inside of the pumpkin).

The house looked great and I was proud to show it off to the ladies of Atco Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

