Minerals…oh how I don’t want to teach you!

I do not look forward to teaching minerals. I love science, but minerals is one of those topics I don’t like teaching (and rocks). Here is why…at recess students constantly bring rocks and want me to look at them and tell them if it is a mineral. Its as if they do not hear me when I say minerals are not laying around outside. They are difficult to find. For months after teaching minerals and rocks students will bring me rocks and want me to look at them. I can only take it for so long… AHHH!

That being said, we begin our study of minerals tomorrow.

I have a FREE packet here. This packet includes power points to teach knowledge and to lead experiments. It also has a pretest and post test with answer keys and a study guide.

Picture 1 Picture 2 Picture 3 Picture 4

My journal entries for this will come soon, but until then I must go be tortured with looking at rocks with my students who think they have found a mineral!!!

One thought on “Minerals…oh how I don’t want to teach you!

  1. Pingback: Science, Science, and MORE Science!!! | shiningthelightinthirdgrade

Leave a Reply

