Strategies for Multiplication and Division

I teach with a SMARTboard and I LOVE my SMARTboard. Each year we name the SMARTboard because they become a member of our class (normally because it acts up and breaks occasionally and then we can blame it on someone besides me or a student).

My first SMARTboard was named George. George was the worst SMARTboard ever. He turned himself off, had no sound capabilities, and in general was a pain. My second SMARTboard was Bob. Bob was pretty good. He didn’t turn himself off until 4 PM (right when I started tutoring every day). Now we have Fred. Fred works really well, but he is shaky. If you touch Fred at all he looks like he might fall from the wall and shatter.

My favorite subject to teach on the SMARTboard is…ALL of them! I use it all day, everyday and plan to keep it that way. I create a weekly SMARTboard notebook to include openings, practice, and directions for where each student and their group goes each day.

Teach students about groups of with colorful images and easy practice. Talk to them about all three strategies for solving multiplication with great images. Give students time to practice building arrays with cloning images in a SMARTboard notebook.

Picture 7

Picture 6 Picture 5

With division, let students “share” objects on the SMARTboard. Let them practice drawing circles and sticks in the SMARTboard and use a multiplication chart to understand the relationship between multiplication and division.

Picture 1 Picture 3 Picture 4

At the end of an opening, let students take responsibility for themselves by seeing where their name is, and where they should go for small group instruction.

Picture 2

These two notebooks can be found here for FREE! The are editable and can be modified.

My students love math because they know they only have to listen to me talk for about five minutes, and then they are going to go to group where they may be playing on www.ixl.com, playing a game on the carpet, working in small group with me or my SPED teacher (most of the time we tie children’s literature into class and then work with manipulatives). Math is fun and manageable in my classroom, which is what all students want.

Leave a Reply

