What a Relief

Today I had to write a graduate paper. This is my normal Saturday adventure, but today’s paper marks a wonderful day for me. This was the last paper to turn in for the course I am currently in. This course was the mid-way mark for my master’s degree. I am officially half way finished with my master’s!!!

I cannot begin to tell you how relieved and excited I am for this. When I graduated in December of 2010 my plan was to teach for a year, get my feet wet and then jump back into school. This was a great plan until I changed content areas my second year teaching. Then I debated whether I wanted to wait another year or just do it. So, last November I just decided to go for it. I took my first course during the holiday season (BIG mistake) and was under a great amount of stress at work (I taught all day, tutored 11 students two afternoons each week, and was taking graduate classes—not to mention church activities, a home to care for, a husband in school also, and two dogs who wanted more attention than I had to give).

I thought at the end of the school year I would be able to focus all of my attention on my graduate work, but that was a huge misunderstanding. My courses are five weeks long with one week off in between courses. This sounds great, except that my week off didn’t line up with my beach vacation, church camp, math and science partnership with Kennesaw State University, or first week back at work. I ended up having multiple weeks this summer where I was doubling up on graduate work so that I could enjoy my vacation and week at church camp. It was insane.

To say that I am happy to be half way finished would be an understatement. I am ecstatic! overjoyed! and beyond ready to be finished!!!

To all of you out their working on a college degree, keep working hard. Know that the piece of paper you will receive is worth it. The knowledge you will have gained is useful. And you are not alone on your adventure to a more educated self.

Leave a Reply

