The Little Finishing Touches

I have shared the larger views of my classroom (minus the last minute posters on the wall), but here are some of the smaller details that I created throughout the summer that pull my room together.

IMG_0009 IMG_0007 IMG_0008

These are the close up of my bulletin boards. My autistic students love the schedule because they always know what is coming up next. I love the No Names poster because I can hang the papers that are turned in with no names and the students know exactly what to do when they have a grade missing.

IMG_0003 IMG_0010

These are two of the better organized teacher stations. I love my “tool box” turned supply organizer. It was a wonderful idea brought to be by my teaching partner and pinterest. My shelf has my subject binders, copies for the week (in the drawers), teaching books and resource material, as well as math fact baskets on the top.

IMG_0004 IMG_0002 IMG_0001

My bathroom passes and pencil buckets are my permanent fixtures. They just had a face lift this summer. The sucker tree will be for students who receive a 100 on a test.

IMG_0005

Each of my students has a Twitter board. These boards can be used doing homeroom to tell me whatever they would like. This prevents students from trying to talk to me while I am getting homework, taking attendance, making sure students are eating breakfast, etc. When I have a moment, I read the boards and then I know all of the great things that have happened in the few hours since I have seen them. This was a life saver last year and prevented a lot of headaches!

I love how decorating even the smallest of things can make a room feel some much brighter. I hope each of you have the same little touches in your classroom so your rooms feel homely and loving for you students.

3 thoughts on “The Little Finishing Touches

  1. Do you have the template for the toolbox above? I am making one for my daughter for her first year of teaching and mine isn’t nearly this large. 🙂 Please let me know if you do and if it is for sale. Thanks so much! 🙂

    Like

    • Awe! That is so sweet o you! I’m sure she will love it! I found this one on Teachers Pay Teachers for FREE!!! There are several on that website which are free! You don’t have to be a teacher to sign up for the website so don’t worry about that either. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

