SPLASH and Laundry

It’s here! We have officially begun SPLASH (a local mission trip for youth in our county). SPLASH is a week-long event where students 6th-12th grade come together, worship, and serve God in our community. 500 students will arrive for sign in and more than 400 adults will volunteer to lead, feed, and work alongside these youth.

SPLASH stands for Show People Love and Share Him, the Him being Jesus Christ. Some of the project students do during the week are backyard bible schools, build wheel chair ramps, paint porches and fences, visit with elderly, do a dollar car wash (students wash your car and give you $1), and so much more! At night the students have a huge worship rally and sleep in churches. It is a ton of fun, but creates a ton of laundry.

My husband is on the SPLASH administrative team and is also a team leader this week. He will come home with dirty, sweaty, and smelly clothes each day…joy for me! His SPLASH shirt will have to be cleaned each night by ME since he isn’t staying in one of the churches each night (the churches wash the students’ and other leaders’ shirts each night! Talk about a task!!!). This fact makes me oh so happy that I have an awesome laundry detergent.

Yes I make my own!

IMG_0228

I found Our Clover House blog with great directions, but I’ll put them below for you!

You will need the following ingredients:

1 Large container

1 Grater with a small grating area

1 (4 lb 12 oz) Box of Borax

1 (3 lb 7 oz) Box of Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda

1 (3 lb) Container of OxyClean

2 (14.1 oz) Bars of Fels Naptha Soap (You can also use Zote Soap)

1 (4 lb) Box of Arm & Hammer Baking Soda

1 large or 2 small Bottle of Purex Crystals Fabric Softener

IMG_0224

Grate the bars of soap into a bowl and put to the side. This is the hardest part, trust me though, it is SO worth it!

IMG_0225

Then in your large container (I used a 5 gallon bucket that was cleaned out with bleach and water and then dried completely) layer each of the ingredients. I did small layers and probably had a total of 15 of each layer (for real, small amounts for each layer). After you have layered all of the ingredients put into air tight containers for storage. I like to keep the Purex bottle full of some of the detergent in the laundry room.

Now to use it…it does not take much. The Purex cap has little lines on it. Fill the cap to the second line. That’s it!

I have discovered to put turn the washing machine on (I have a top loading washer), then add the detergent, then put the clothes in. When I put the detergent on top of the clothes I had clumps of detergent left in pockets (Oops! Live and Learn!).

I made this batch last summer (2012) and still have a gallon left (in case you are a teacher like me, and don’t look at the calendar in the summer, it is July 2013). This has been well worth the $28 and 30 minutes to make it!

Try it! You won’t be sorry!!!

Leave a Reply

